top of page

2024/8/10(土)SMC

Word of the Day: SM Yoko Narisawa

trust ]

noun >

1. a strong belief in the honesty, goodness etc of someone or something

Ex.) You can put your trust in him.

Ex.) The firm has a great deal of trust in your ability

2. to rely on someone to do something 

Ex.) He gave his property in trust with his uncle.

Ex.) She left her baby in her mother’s trust.

3. resposibility

Ex.) She held a position of trust and responsibility.

Ex.) He fulfilled his trust.

4. a firm belief

Ex.) I have a trust that she will pass the examination. (= I’m sure that ~ )

 

verb >

Vt. ]

1. to believe that someone is honest or will not do anything bad or wrong 

Ex.) I’ll trust her for what she says.

2. to be sure that something is correct or right

Ex.) You can trust her to keep her word.

Ex.) I trust that you will behave better from now on.

3. ( used in a negative sentence and an interrogative sentence )

  [ S + V + O to do ]  to allow someone to do something

Ex.) Can you trust your daughter to go out alone at night?

Ex.) I can’t trust my son to go abroad alone.

 

Vi. ]

1. to believe in or rely on someone or something

Ex.) We trust in our teacher.

Ex.) I’ll just have to trust to luck that it works out okay.

 

[ idioms ]

1. take O on trust = believe O completely without checking it

Ex.) I took your statement on trust.

2. Trust someone ( to do something ) ( used in an imperative form )

 = used to say that it is typical of someone to do something stupid

Ex.) Trust Chris to leave the tickets at home.

3. would not trust O as far as one could throw O

 = not trust O at all

Ex.) He’s very charming but I would not trust him as far as I could throw him.

 

< Question >

Who or what do you trust most?


Lecture: SM Kei Narisawa

Tell me the meaning of the underlined part of the sentences below. You’ve got to be specific in describing the situation in which each sentence is used. After that, answer the questions provided below respective sentences. (Taken from the book, ‘The only one left’)

 

1. * I’m afraid to even blink out of fear the image of Mary’s corpse poking from the sand will be projected onto the backs of my eyelids.

Question: Do I blink because I’m afraid the image of Mary’s corpse will stick to the back of my eyelids? Or I blink to rid myself of the fear? 

2. *One thing I’m certain of is that it’s nearly impossible for the Walkman to have accidentally shut off without Lenora using her right hand. I know because I’ve tried. Jostling it. Smacking it. I even knocked it against the side of a chair multiple times, testing to see if it was enough to bump the stop button. It wasn’t. Nothing Lenora could have done with her left hand would have somehow made the Walkman turn off if it bumped her right one.

Question; what does ‘it’ refer to?

3.*“You’re not the one who pushed Mary,” I say, as clear a sign as any that Carter fully has my trust.

Question: What word does ‘that Carter fully has my trust’ clause modify? The word ‘sign’ or ‘any’? 

::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::

1)メアリーの死体が砂から突き出している映像がまぶたの裏に映し出されるのではないかという恐怖で、瞬きさえもできない。

2)レノーラが左手で何をしても、もし右手がウォークマンに当たったとしても、それでウォークマンが止まることはなかっただろう。

3)「メアリーを突き飛ばしたのはあなたじゃない」と私は言う。それは、カーターに完全に信頼を寄せている何よりの証拠だ。


Table Topic Speech

(1) In the haste of your daily life, what are you not seeing?

(2) Would you rather lose all of your old memories or never be able to make new ones?

(3) How are you pursuing your dreams right now?

(4) What makes you proud?

(5) What makes life easier?


Prepared Speech

(1) Cruise Plan: SM Koizumi 

I am thrilled to share with you my passion for cruising, a world I've been intimately connected with as a dance instructor. Before the pandemic, I had the privilege of teaching dance classes, attending parties, and participating in dance lessons on the magnificent Pacific Venus cruise ship.

 

Cruising offers an array of delights: breathtaking scenery, grand entrance halls, elegant staircases, entertaining rooms, dining areas, and much more. Every corner of the ship is exquisitely coordinated and magnificent. You can enjoy a variety of meals and drinks freely, with only a few exceptions like alcohol.

 

Each evening, a brochure detailing the next day's events and important information about ports of call is delivered to your room. This allows you to plan your activities, which can range from films, games, lectures, cultural events, parties, and shows. While it can be challenging to choose, creating your schedule is part of the fun.

 

InCruises, a cruise company, established in Miami, USA, in 2016, focuses on making cruising more accessible by offering various opportunities at lower prices. Inspired by this, I decided to become a member of InCruises, allowing me to plan and prepare my future cruises affordably.

 

At this moment, I am at the starting line of this new adventure. My dream is to cruise with wonderful people who enjoy speaking English with tourists or love dancing on the ship. I am preparing financially, planning my cruises, and sharing my plans with those who might want to join me.

 

This is my new challenge—to have fun and share my dream with you all. Let’s make unforgettable memories together on the high seas.


(2) Unexpectedness: SM Kaneko

I spoke about unexpectedness—how unexpected events can happen and how they sometimes enrich our lives. I say "sometimes" because if I were to say "always," it would be problematic or indiscreet, as unexpected events can also include harmful things like natural disasters.

Let's focus on the positive aspects of unexpectedness. Currently, we are enjoying the Paris Olympic Games. So far, I've seen parts of the opening ceremony, as well as soccer, basketball, volleyball, gymnastics, judo, wrestling, and more.

In men's gymnastics, the athlete Mr. Hashimoto was expected to win back-to-back championships in the individual all-around. Although he did not achieve this, Mr. Oka unexpectedly won the gold medal, bringing us great joy!

In women's wrestling, two athletes, Ms. Susaki and Ms. Fujinami, were both expected to win gold medals due to their incredible strength. While Ms. Fujinami accomplished this, unfortunately, Ms. Susaki lost her first match in the tournament. It seemed that her chance was lost, but because the winner of her first match advanced to the final, she qualified to participate in the consolation matches and went on to win the bronze medal. If both athletes had won gold as expected, would it have been more impressive than the actual results? Of course, gold medals are better than bronze, but the unexpected outcomes added drama.

We enjoy dramas, and unexpected events are often more dramatic than expected ones. I believe that's why we find them so engaging.

Thank you for your attention.


(3) Decide (Choose) by Myself: SM M.G

Over the last two weeks I heard the same expression, "decide (choose) by myself" several times.


In a TV drama,  a girl chose to help her mother against the result of a coin toss.


At physio, a PT said, "not the doctor,  not the PT,  it's up to you to make a decision to take an operation."


On youtube, it said, "If you choose to be alone, it is a type of good loneliness that leads to success, more happiness and opportunities. If you feel that somebody or something forces you to be alone, that is a type of bad loneliness that leads you to ruin your life."


In another youtube video, it said, "decisiveness is the one of the ten principles for success."


Meeting Schedule

In-person: 9:30 AM on Aug. 24 at Oyama Community Center (small conference room)

(Coordinator: SM Eda, Word of the Day: SM Noro, Lecurer: SM Takahata)

Zoom: 7:30 PM on Aug. 12 and 19

Comments


Recent Posts
Search By Tags
まだタグはありません。
bottom of page