top of page

2023/03/11(土)SMC

President’s remark

Do you enjoy the WBC baseball games? Not only am I interested in games, but also the slightest differences in culture or national traits among countries. In my opinion, the Korean people have stronger affection or the love of their country, on the other hand, Japanese people have strong sense of friendship or comradery. So, when you screw up, people will criticize you harshly in Korea but in Japan, they sympathize with each other, saying 'give it your best shot next time'. I'm a Japanese and so are you. It may be the reason why we feel comfortable surrounded by those people who are lenient about your mistakes. We, Smc members, are here to help each other in learning English, in a Japanese way in a way.


Word of the Day: SM Eda

"Attitude"

1) a feeling or opinion about somthing or someone, or a way of behaving that is caused by this.

Ex. It's often very difficult to change people's attitudes.


2) If you say that someone has attitude, you mean that they are very confident and want people to notice them.

Ex. Some people say I have attitude - maybe I do. You have to believe yourself when nobody does.


3) a position of the body

Ex. She lay sprawled across the sofa, in an attitude of complete abandon.


4) a position of an aircraft or spaceship

Ex. We will have to check the attitude of this airplane.


Lecture: SM Kei Narisawa

Unlike what we are supposed to do in a zoom meeting, today we have to fill in the blank in the explanation of each original sentence.


Compose your own sentence based on the sentence with an asterisk attached. 3/11

1) You can take a walk if you’d rather.

Go for it if you (c ) to take a walk.

*2) It's not for nothing she studies every night!

It’s not a (w ) of time and energy she studies every night.

3) He was angry with himself for not mentioning this before.

He (a ) himself of not mentioning this before.

4) How nice of you to grace us with your presence.

(T ) you for your presence.

5) There are some secrets best never uttered to anybody.

Some secrets should be kept unsaid unconditionally. You should bring them to the (g ).

6) It is none of your business where he is.

It is of no (c ) to you where he is.

*7) How could I go wrong with an Italian buffet?

If you have a date, an Italian buffet is the best (c ) or going to an Italian buffet will make your date happy without ( f ).

Ans. 1) chose 2) waste 3)accused 4) Thank 5) grave 6) concern

7) choice, fail


Table Topic Speech

1 What are your top five personal values?

2 How would you describe ' freedom ' in your own words?

3 In the haste of your daily life, what are you not seeing?

4 What would you regret not fully doing, being or having in your life?


Prepared Speech

1) ChatGPT: SM Noro

Have you heard about ChatGPT? Once you register your account including email address and password, you can always communicate with A.I. language model ChatGPT timely and naturally. I was interested in knowing more about it and I had a chat with it. For trials, I asked the ChatGPT some questions and got answers. For instance, I requested ChatGPT to give me a joke using GOD. The answer is the followings; Sure, here is a joke for you: Why did GOD create man before woman? Because he didn't want any advice on how to do it. I responded to the answer in the following: Translate your joke in Japanese. Here is the translated version of the joke in Japanese.

なぜ神は女性より先に男性を創造したのか?

それはやり方についてアドバイスされたくなかったからです。

I am sure that it will be useful for studying English if we will use it well.


2) Measuring Cognitive Function by Taking the TOEIC TEST: SM Kakisu

I am sure you are familiar with the EIKEN and TOEIC. I took the EIKEN and TOEIC 10 years ago because they were required when I registered with JICA to apply for an overseas assignment. At that time, my purpose was to get as high score as possible, so I concentrated to study every day in three month. Thanks to my efforts, I was able to get the targeted score.

JICA stipulates that the validity period of the language test is 10 years, so I decided to take the TOEIC again. This time, my purpose is not to obtain a score, but to measure whether my language skills, especially in listening and reading, had been maintained, decreased, or improved.

The TOEIC test is 120 minutes long so it requires concentration and short-term memory. As we get older, our memory and ability to concentrate become weaker and weaker.

I believe that the TOEIC test will provide a dynamic brain test, whereas a static brain test can be done with an MRI(Magnetic Resonance Imaging).I am looking forward to taking the test next week and get the TOEIC results afterwards.


Meeting Schedule

In-person: 9:30 AM on Mar. 25 at Oyama Community Center

(Coordinator: SM Kakisu, Word of the Day: SM Noro, Lecturer: SM Eda)

Zoom: 7:30 PM on Mar. 13, 20 and 27

Recent Posts
Search By Tags
まだタグはありません。
bottom of page