top of page

2023/8/26(土)SMC

President’s remark: SM Kei Narisawa

"My son wasn't always well-behaved while I was raising him. There were ups and downs along the way. Now he has a second child, who is a dear granddaughter to me. My son should take responsibility for his two children. Children bring both trouble and pleasure. He will undoubtedly have to put in a lot of effort to raise them. What comes around goes around. He might get frustrated while raising them, but I hope he experiences the same amount of joy I felt when I raised him."

Word of the Day: SM Noro

"belong"

1. Word Meaning

The word “belong” is a verb that is often used to indicate ownership, membership, or a sense of fitting in. It is used to describe the relationship between a person or thing and a group, place or category.


2. Usage with prepositions

The verb “belong” is an intransitive verb, not a transitive verb.

And the prepositions commonly used with the word “belong” include:


To: This book belongs to me.

In: I used to belong in Nagano City.

With: He belongs with the football club.

Under: This issue belongs under the environmental category.

Among: She belongs among the top students.

Within: This concept belongs within the realm of philosophy.


These prepositions help to clarify the relationship between the subject and the group, place, or category to which they belong.


*Difference between “to” and “with”

Belong to: This phrase indicates ownership or possession. It describes the relationship between a person or thing and the group or individual it is a part of. For example, “This car belongs to John” means the car is owned by John. It's about something being someone else's property.


Belong with: This phrase refers to compatibility, chemistry or a sense of fitting in. It is used to describe how well a person or thing matches or fits into a particular group or situation. For instance, “She belongs with our marketing team” means that she is a good fit for that team based on her skills or attributes. Also, although we have to be careful in usage, in a particular scene, we can say, “He belongs with me.”


In essence, “belong to” focuses on ownership or membership, while “belong with” focuses on compatibility or suitability within a group or category.

3. Example sentences by nuance

Ownership: “This book belongs to Sarah.”

Membership: “She belongs to a group of talented musicians.”

Fitting in or Being Part of a Group: “I always felt like I belonged with my closest friends.”

Expressing a Sense of Place or Home: “This is where I belong. But here is not where you belong. ”

Describing Categorization: “This items belong in the miscellaneous category.”


4. Idioms

l “Belong to the same boat”: Sharing a common situation or experience to emphasize unity in adversity.

l “Belong to the past”: Referring to something that is outdated or no longer relevant in the present.

l “Belong in one’s element”: Feeling comfortable and natural in a particular environment or situation. For example, “During the hiking, Sarah seemed to belong in her element as she confidently led the group through.”

l “Where you belong”: Used to emphasize someone’s natural or appropriate place or role.

l “Belong to a different world”: Describing someone or something that is very different from the current situation. For example, “Listening to the complex theories during the international physics seminar, I felt like I belonged to a different world, as the concepts being discussed were far beyond my understanding.”


5. Synonym – Pertain

A synonym for “belong” is “pertain”. Both words convey the idea of something being connected, related or associated with a particular group, category. For example, “The information in this book pertains to historical events in the 18th century.”


The word “pertain” is used in slightly different ways. Briefly, “belong” is about ownership or membership, while “pertain” is about relevance or connection to a specific context.


Lecture: SM Kei Narisawa

Lecture on differences in meaning between words (abbreviated version)

We discussed the differences in meaning between the pair of words below with help from the guest native English speakers.

① Delusion and illusion

[Delusion]

A) He was under the delusion that he could fly and jumped off the roof.

B) Her delusion of being a famous singer led her to pursue a non-existent career.

[Illusion]

A) The magician created the illusion of a disappearing rabbit on stage.

B) The shimmering mirage in the desert turned out to be just an illusion.

② cure and heal

[Cure]

A) Antibiotics are used to cure bacterial infections by eliminating the bacteria.

B) A cure for the common cold has not been discovered yet, but symptoms can be managed.

[Heal]

A) Time and rest are essential for the body to heal after a surgery.

B) Emotional support and therapy can help heal psychological wounds.

③ big and large

[big]

A) The elephant was so big that it easily towered over the trees in the savanna.

B) She had a big smile on her face when she saw the surprise party her friends had organized.

[Large]

A) The museum displayed a large collection of ancient artifacts from various civilizations.

B) The conference room was spacious enough to accommodate a large audience.

④ assume and presume

[Assume]

A) Without any evidence, she assumed that the meeting had been canceled.

B) He didn't have the exact figures, so he had to assume the approximate cost of the project.

[Presume]

A) Based on his expertise in the field, we can presume that his analysis is accurate.

B) She presumed that the company would provide training for the new employees due to its past practices.


Table Topic Speech

1) Give working moms special privileges.

2) Do men make bettwe chefs?

3) What's your favorite family tradition?

4) Does becoming a vegetarian improve your life/

5) Why do women lie about thier ages?

6) My first attempt on a bicycle

7) Cleanikng one's room daily

8) Life was not easier a century ago


Prepared Speech

1) Responsibility of Major Media Outlets: SM Yu. Narisawa

I understand most of you know this piece of music is by Mozart. But why do you know?

Mozart was greatly appreciated in his lifetime, but only in Europe. He would not be as widely known as he is today throughout the world without the invention of recording devices, film music, and plays and films about his life. Mozart would not be ‘Mozart,’ the great universal artist, without adequate technical and marketing support.

In the present day, with technical support readily available, under certain conditions, becoming known worldwide seems plausible. Curling, for instance, was just a local sport, but now through the Olympics, it has become popular. Even scandals involving Johnny's Entertainment, a Japanese talent agency, reached the United Nations level because the BBC covered them. On the other hand, issues like Deputy Chief Cabinet Secretary Kihara's wife's crime or subsequent corruption within the Olympic Organizing Committee are not covered by major media outlets. These problems might be seen as insignificant to society, but sometimes I’m sorry that major media outlets don’t take up even crucial matters necessary for shaping public opinion.

Recently, a newspaper reported that 56 Self-Defense Force members who had been dispatched to Iraq and the Indian Ocean and had experiences leading to PTSD had committed suicide between 2003 and 2014. Such news was covered only minimally. The way media covers events has a profound impact on society.

In that sense, the responsibility of the media outlet is substantial. So I hope they refrain from adhering to safe reporting that could align with government information manipulati


2) Paper or Display: SM Kakisu

Before I start my speech, I would like to ask one question, is it OK ?

When you want to study foreign language, which learning material do you prefer to use, Paper or Display?


This is my today’s topic.

Since this January I've been trying to listen to English News every morning. My learning material is NPR podcast. After several times listening, I check my listening result with downloaded transcript on the paper.

But this way spends a lot of time and money and also against the SDGs because it wastes paper.

So I started to try reading transcript on my smartphone display not on the printed paper.

This method is quite convenient because when I find new words or idioms I just move the cursor to the word or idiom. Automatically electrical dictionary translates and displays the meaning in Japanese and pronounces them.

I studied with this style one month but I found that it was not good for me because I couldn’t memorize most of new words. So I stopped this learning style and I backed to old learning style, using ”paper”.

By the way, sometimes I have a meeting with young staff at business office.

At meeting all of my colleagues bring paper files but counterpart members do not bring paper files. They bring notebook type PC only. While we are discussing, my members use paper but counterparts use display. That is the new business style. I have to change my business style from paper to display.


3) ChocoZAP: SM Koizumi

As our lifespan continues to lengthen, we aspire to maintain good health for as long as possible.

It's especially appealing to possess both a healthy and attractive physique.

I came across an advertisement for "ChocoZAP" on billboards around town, in newspapers, and online.

"Only 4 days left. You have 4 days to enter ChocoZAP."


In response, I promptly decided to visit and explore ChocoZAP due to the following reasons:

1, I've long been interested in RIZAP.

2, The program's contents were captivating.

3, The campaign's giveaways were enticing as well.


I headed to the location with the intention of signing up, but to my surprise, I couldn't even access the building. While no one ushered me in, I could see through the glass doors that several clients were individually engaged in exercises with training machines. What should I do now?

The brochure stated, "You can conveniently enroll in the program through the internet" along with a QR code.


It hit the nail on the head. This realization struck me profoundly.

The entire operation was system-driven, devoid of any on-site staff.

Alright, I gathered valuable information at the spot and returned home.


Following a minor struggle with my computer, I completed the enrollment process for ChocoZAP.

I'm now delighted to have access to its services. Among them, I can watch RIZAP programs that offer highly effective training methods for achieving a great physique. For instance, I tried "Morning Stretch No.1" and "Evening Stretch No.1." These routines are incredibly helpful as they are based on RIZAP's meticulously researched training program.


I can utilize ChocoZAP's services at various locations and enjoy exercising at any time.

Spots are available in Ikuta, Komae, Soshigayaokura, Kyodo, Umegaoka, Machida, Sagamihara, and more.

I've entered into a contract starting from October 1st.

The monthly cost is ¥2,980 (including tax, ¥3,278).

In my opinion, exercise is the finest preventive measure against health issue.


4) Pets: SM Eda


Meeting Schedule

In-person: 9:30 AM on Sep. 9 at Seishin Community Center (tearoom)

(Coordinator: SM Eda, Word of the Day: SM Yoko Narisawa, Lecturer: SM Noro)

Zoom: 7:30 PM on Aug. 28 and Sep. 4

Comentários


Recent Posts
Search By Tags
まだタグはありません。
bottom of page