top of page

2023/6/24(土)SMC

President's remark

Today, memories flood my mind, reminding me of a valuable lesson. At Sagamihara High School, I had three consecutive classes and got a light heat stroke. To prevent it from happening again, I bought a soda but made a comical mistake. Opening it caused a loud "pusssh" sound, capturing everyone's attention and leading to laughter. From this experience, I learned two lessons: preventing heat strokes is crucial, and be cautious when opening a carbonated drink.

Thank you for your attention. Let's cherish wisdom from life's unexpected moments.


(Word of the Day: cancelled due to the presentor's absence)


Lecture: SM Takahata

Read the explanations below and fill in the blank.

(1) Hey, Kenta. Stop*1 (goofing) off and go to work. You’re not worth your *2 (salt). Are you serious about taking over our family sake brewery? *3 (Shape) up or (ship) out.


*1:= to waste time or avoid doing any work

*2: = be worth one’s (s ) = doing their job well or deserving respect

*3: = spoken used to tell someone that if they do not improve they will be made to leave a place or their job


(2)The TOEFL exam is just around the corner. I really must stay focused and *1 (hit) the books this weekend. I’m determined to get into Harvard. I don’t want to *2 lower my (sights).


*1: = to study hard

*2: = to lower one’s expectations and accept less than one was hoping for or striving toward


(3)A: Yumi’s boyfriend is *1 (sponging) off her without a regular job.

B: Why was she involved with a guy like that?

A: It’s just his appearance. She *2 has a (thing) about good-looking man.

*1: = to get money, free meals etc. from other people without doing anything for them

*2: = to have very strong and often unreasonable feelings about someone or something


(4)You’ve got to *1 put your (heart) into your studies. Stop your

*2 (indiscreminate) viewing of YouTube videos all the time. If you don’t *3 (buckle) down, you’re going to fail in your entrance exams.


*1: = to do something with one’s maximum effort and passion

*2: = not showing careful choice or planning, especially so that harm results

*3: = to start working seriously

(5) A: Honey, did you really clean out the living room?

B: Yes, why?

A: The carpet is covered in dog hair. You *1 (cut) (corners), didn’t you?

B: *2 You (caught) me.


*1:= to do things too quickly, and not as carefully as you should, especially to save money or time

*2: = used when the speaker’s lie has been found out


(6) The new president is an*1 (eager) beaver and dedicated to her work. I believe she *2 goes the extra (mile) to support the employees. *3 Sure as (shooting)!


*1: = someone who is too keen and works harder than they should

*2: = to try a little harder in order to achieve something, after you have already used a lot of effort

*3: Absolutely! = You bet!


(7) A: For looking up some colloquial expressions, this dictionary of

idioms really *1 comes in (handy). Just try using it for a while.

B: Thanks. This has *2 (seen) a lot of use.


*1: = to be useful

*2: = to have experienced a lot of use


(8) I’m planning to *1 (get) away from it (all) by going scuba diving in Bermuda this summer. During that time, I’ll *2 (sublet) my apartment in Tokyo to my sister.


*1: = to go somewhere, usually on holiday, where you can completely relax and forget your responsibilities or problems

*2: = to rent to someone else a property that you rent from its owner


Table Topic Speech

1) A sence of humor is essential

2) Children should not watch TV

3) What characteristics make an ideal hero and why?

4) Everyone should be a volunteer

5) Summer is the best and worst of times. Why?

6) Beauty is always in the eye of the beholder

7) Color effects the way people feel


Prepared Speech

1) A meeting for the first time in 40 years: SM Yoko Narisawa

The other day, I met my former students for the first time in 40 years. I received word that one of my colleagues had passed away. She was a P.E. teacher and an expert at volleyball. She served as an adviser for the boys’ volleyball club. This time, members of the volleyball club held a memorial service for her. They invited me to attend the memorial service.

While working at the junior high school, I owed her a great deal. She taught me classroom management, student guidance or other various things I needed to learn as a teacher. Additionally, I would occasionally stay at her house where her mother would prepare dinner for me. However, we drifted apart after I moved to Aikawa Machi.

The memorial service took place at a Japanese restaurant near Chogo Station on the Odakyu Line. As I made my way to the restaurant, I couldn’t help but wonder how my former students had changed. The attendees were her husband, the main male adviser of the volleyball club, seven old boys and me. I knew her husband’s name, but this was the first time for me to meet him. He is 83 years old and spoke kindly and gently to me. The old boys, now 57 years old, greeted me with a familiar look. I recognized their faces instantly. On the other hand, the old boys imagined I would like a real old woman. However, contrary to their expectations, all of them said I looked very young and just the same as I used to be. I knew they were only flattering me, but it made me very happy to hear that. We reminisced about the old times and it brought back memories. Although it was a memorial service, but we had a very good time. I don’t know when I’ll see them again, but I’d love to see them again.


2) Addiction: SM Kei Narisawa

Today he talked about his addiction to the girl's group "Atarashii Gakkou." Japanese high school girls wearing Sailor-style uniforms look cute and the uniforms have a practical origin. Atarashii Gakkou's song "Otonablue" and their energetic choreography captivated him. Watching them changed his perspective on "otaku" culture and idolizing. The anime film "Kimino na wa" has touched people worldwide. Explore these experiences, watch "Kimino na wa," and embrace different perspectives.


3) Political Global Strategy: SM Yu. Narisawa

Have you ever watched the TV family drama: The Patty Duke Show? Looking back now, it was part of America's political global strategy to promote its wealth and superiority over the Soviet world. Japanese anime now has gained immense popularity worldwide, with significant box office sales in countries like France and China. However, I don't think the Japanese government has a clear political global strategy. They seem to focus mainly on economic matters. On the other hand, China is desperately trying to catch up by luring away cheaply paid Japanese animators with higher salaries. Presumably they are aiming at ruling the world with the help of their anime. A few days ago there was a case where a Chinese scientist working in Japan was arrested for leaking advanced technologies to a Chinese company, which submitted a patent application in Beijing a few days after the day. He was accused of industrial espionage. Chinese Government says about that they have nothing to do with this case. The case is just related to the industrial world only. Presumably they are telling lies. This can be seen as part of China's political global strategy.

I think it’s important for Japan to recognize the significance of having a clear political global strategy. Japan should actively spread the message that Japan is a peace-loving country, and always keep a distance from war by promoting their cultural exports, such as anime, manga, game, and technology. They can’t forget to protect their intellectual property rights from China.


Meeting Schedule

In-person: 9:30 AM on Jul. 8 at Oyama Community Center

(Coordinator: SM Yu. Narisawa, Word of the Day: SM Eda, Lecturer: SM Yoko Narisawa)

Zoom: 7:30 PM on Jun. 26, Jul. 3, 10, 17 and 24


Comments


Recent Posts
Search By Tags
まだタグはありません。
bottom of page