top of page

2022/1/22(土)SMC

We are in critical conditions due to the spreading of omicron variant. The meeting may have been a rare chance to get together in person. There were only four attendees, but we enjoyed the meeting in a friendly atmosphere.


Word of the day (SM Eda)

Muzzle

[n] 1. nose and mouth of an animal

2. a tool to keep dogs from biting

3. the end of the barrel of gun

[v] 1. to prevent someone from speaking freely or expressing their opinions

2. to put a muzzle over a dog's mouth so the it cannot bite people


Lecture (SM Yu. Narisawa)

The lecturer introduced the lyrics of the theme song of the movie, "Drive My Car" sung by Beatles. He pointed out that "baby" is used both for woman and man. And he lectured about some useful idiomatic expressions.


Table Topic Speech

Topics

- If I could be a President of any country, I would choose

- One person, I would like to have dinner with

- Your dream vacation


Prepared Speech

Cominping (SM Yo. Narisawa)

Camping has been more popular than before and has been developing further

into a new style one.

The other day when I watched a TV program, I knew the term' cominping' for

the first time. Cominping is the new term which combined camping with 古民家.

There are a lot of old houses which nobody lives in all over Japan. The concept

of cominping is to offer the new type of camping by making better use of vacant

old houses which were renovated remaining the way of the old life style. We can

experience what we can't do in our daily life. We can split firewood and cook rice

and other dishes on the old cooking stove. We can take a 五右衛門風呂. There are

so many activities we can do there. We may feel old-fashioned things to be new

ones. I wasn't interested in camping before, but now I begin to get the feeling

that camping is more interesting than I have thought.


Indirect Kiss (SM K. Narisawa)

Whenever you find the word an indirect kiss, you may inevitably imagine a romantic situation. It's always heartwarming to see a young couple sharing the same plate or a cup. I always use a cup that's been there above the running water in the kitchen. I use it for mouth-rinsing after brushing my teeth. One day I learned an appalling fact that the cup I always use is the same cup my daughter's pet dog drink water from. Before I use it, I often clean it with the running water, but sometimes I don't bother to do so. I had an intentional indirect kiss from the dog.


Next Meeting Schedule

Zoom: Jan. 24, 7:30 PM to 9:00 PM (Coordinator: K. Narisawa)

In-person: Feb. 12, 9:30 AM to 12:00 at Oyama Community Center

(Coordinator: Yu. Narisawa, Word of the day: K. Narisawa, Lecturer: Takahata)

Comments


Recent Posts
Search By Tags
まだタグはありません。
bottom of page