top of page

2018/03/24(土)SMC

こんにちは。Yamazakiです。

3月24(土)小山公民館でのSMCを報告します。

K. Narisawaさん、Y. Narisawaさん、Hirabayashiさん、Kanekoさん、Takahataさん、Koizumiさん、今回初参加のSatoさん、Yamazakiの8名の参加でした。

ConductorはTakahataさん、LecturerはY. Nariswaさんでした。

◆ Lecture

Y. Narisawaさんが、普段読んでいる小説から引用した用語穴埋め問題でした。本当に、小説にはイディオム満載ですね。

She (came) down with a cold yesterday.

=caught a cold

All my advice was (lost )on her.

= had no effect on

His shoes were (caked) with mud.

= covered with

Her French is so good that she can (pass) as a Frenchmoman.= she is similar enough to a Frenchmoman.

You look a bit under the (weather).

= look ill

Don’t give it a (second) thought.=

Don’t worry about it.

◆ Table Topic Speech

. Please talk about soring.

. When was the last time when you were kind to others?

. What’s your favorite color?

. When you travel what means of transportation do you like to use?

. What’s the biggest question you have about the future?

. What technological advances would you like to see in your lifetime?

. If you got a lot of money, what would you do?

◆ Prepared Speech

初参加のSatoさんが、ご自身のお仕事(コンピュータ技術関連)の話含め、ビジネスマンらしいとても分かりやすい英語で自己紹介をされました。

“Something to live” (K. Narisawa)

以前所属されていた英語スピーチ勉強会の仲間で、目が不自由な女性が、完全に音声だけを頼りに英語スピーチの勉強をしていたというお話がありました。

“We played the game for keeps(=forever).”

“come out smelling like a rose”

= To maintain a favorite reputation despite involvement in a scandalous or otherwise negative situation.

To succeed; to do better anyone else in some situation

“About SMC” (Kanekoさん)

今回初参加のSatoさんを念頭に、ご自身がこの4年半SMCに参加し続けてどう英語力向上、英語勉強のモチベーション向上を実感してきたかというお話でした。

“Tokyo Olympic mascot unveiled; now they just need names (“Hirabayashiさん)

2020東京五輪のマスコットのデザインが決まったというNikkei Shimbunからの引用でした。

“deck out”: to dress in fashionable clothes or to dress in a certain style of clothes for a special occasion

“Wow! Ogasawara” (Koizumiさん)

ダンスアテンダントで2回目となる、小笠原の父島への船旅のお話でした。東京から24時間(距離にして1000km)。父島がどんなところか、用意されたスピーチ原稿に写真入りで詳細が紹介されていました。何ともうらやましい経験をされていますね!

"New things begin” (Yamazaki)

ビジネスの新年度、学校新学期、NHK朝ドラの新旧切り替え時期にあたり、関連事項をお話しました。

◆ Presidential remarks

スピーチの基本(アイコンタクト、ジェスチャーなど)に立ち返り、頑張って行こうとの言葉がありました。

次回4月14日(第2土曜日)は小山公民館です。また4月28日(第4土曜日)も小山公民館ですが、Discourseは実施しません。基本的に実施しないことにしました。

4月15日(日曜日)に、年1回の小山公民館の利用者懇談会、総会があります。Yamazakiが出席します。

Recent Posts
Search By Tags
まだタグはありません。
bottom of page